14 Comments
Oct 7, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

Agreed! I value my time more than anything. I share my work calendar, keep it up to date to the minute and still no one respects the time blocks which means I have to spend more time with the meeting organizer to find a new time. What is with this need for face to face meetings that require travel when Zoom is perfectly fine? I was asked to drive over three hours one-way to a meeting because it would be "fun" to meet in person. And on a Friday! I steadfastly refused and asked them to reconsider their work and meeting practices before scheduling future meetings. I miss the pandemic lock down! Oh and by the way meeting organizers, I have a 20 minute attention span so anything beyond that will not amount too much from me.

Expand full comment
author

Yes, easy for me to imagine people (and which people specifically) would ignore times I have blocked off, but it feels like the equivalent of barging into someone's house and saying, "You're not doing anything, so we're having a party now! Where's my drink?"

Expand full comment

The more appointments you have the faster your perception of time...slow down for an apparently longer life...

Expand full comment
author

Yes, though nothing slows down time in the worst way than a meeting that could have been an e-mail.

Expand full comment

Since I work for myself, I never ever let that happen, but I feel for those who battle this plague...

Expand full comment
Oct 7, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

I hate this shared calendar ethos!!!

Expand full comment
author

Same!

Expand full comment

We have shared calendars at work, but people can only see what’s available and what’s blocked they can’t see what’s in those blocks unless you allow it (which I don’t). I have mine blocked off all the time except for the hours I am leaving available for meeting scheduling, which is usually about three hours out of every work day. I used to have my whole calendar open, but I went to this new method about a year ago and no one has questioned it. Even my boss. Now sometimes somebody needs to schedule a meeting and they will ask me if I can move something – and sometimes I’m accommodating and sometimes I’m not. But this is the only way it works. I suspect I’m lucky in that I have a lot of autonomy in my job.

Expand full comment

I guess it’s kind of the best of both worlds really, I don’t have a whole bunch of emails about meeting times and I block off whatever time I need. 

Expand full comment
author

That does sound like the best of both worlds. I wonder if that’s part of workplace culture? I’ve only ever worked in academia and in one place, so I wonder how varied this is. Would you be in trouble at some places for not having more time available?

Expand full comment

Oh for certain. I'm kind of surprised no one has questioned it, I didn't think I could until I did it! Some places would force you to make your calendar "public" (not that I can't still put "meeting" in as the only description.

Expand full comment

What a great discussion! So glad I was working in the age where technology wasn’t so intrusive. My jobs required last minute plans and discussions often, so I sure wouldn’t have scored well in planning my time to the minute.

Expand full comment
author

No kidding, Betsey. I get sort of annoyed when Jeff asks me what my plans for the day are. 😁

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

Agree with you Robyn. When I was working full-time, I was almost as privileged as a tenured professor...I had an executive assistant who handled my scheduling. When I’d get a new one, it took me about a month for them to figure out my preferences. But all-in-all I don’t like the idea of shared calendars.

Expand full comment