6 Comments
May 11, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

A Midwest girl longs for the glitz and glamour of Hollywood, desperate to flee her slow, boring town in Flyover Country.

She does a tour of several colleges in California to find it to be beautiful, yes, but largely just a louder, busier version of everywhere else she’s been. Turns out, being able to do whatever you want whenever you want isn’t as enticing as it sounds after a while. She didn’t think about the trash or the traffic or the ludicrous cost of living.

After realizing she get a decent bowl of ramen in Louisville, or Columbus, OH, or any other mid-sized city she ditches the California dream and goes to somewhere that isn’t literally on fire and focuses on being part of the community.

I should write a Lifetime movie...

Expand full comment
May 11, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

I am feeling this post very much. Zach and I have learned the art of writing our genius ideas and conversations down. Also, my notes app is full of random goodness I need to remember like a note to myself from 2014 that says “Keep in mind: always be that girl that Jack White wants to marry”

Expand full comment
May 12, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

To be absolutely sure, I think a fun trip to San Francisco or Sonoma wine country is needed.

Expand full comment