20 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Jan 19, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

“In the beginning there was nothing, which exploded.” - Terry Pratchett

Expand full comment
author

That about sums it up.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

I appreciate your postings! Thank you.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks, Eric.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

Here's maybe my favorite Mary Oliver poem:

Wild Geese

You do not have to be good.

You do not have to walk on your knees

for a hundred miles through the desert repenting.

You only have to let the soft animal of your body

love what it loves.

Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.

Meanwhile the world goes on.

Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain

are moving across the landscapes,

over the prairies and the deep trees,

the mountains and the rivers.

Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,

are heading home again.

Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,

the world offers itself to your imagination,

calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting -

over and over announcing your place

in the family of things.

Expand full comment
author

I love this! Thanks so much.

Expand full comment

These brighten my day. Thanks for sharing.

Expand full comment
author

Oh, that's good to hear. Thanks!

Expand full comment

Such a glorious poem! Thank you for sharing it with us. Mary Oliver - such a gift!

Expand full comment
author

Yes! Her poems are food for the soul.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

I’ve come to look for your posts.

Thank you.

I hope what I am doing today is amazing.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you so much, Wanda. I have no doubt it is amazing.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

I fear I'm not doing amazing. And I'd be running from a grasshopper before I realized what is was. Who am I kidding? I wouldn't be kneeling in the grass for fear of creepy-crawlies in the first place.

Expand full comment
author

We all meet nature in our own ways.

Expand full comment

My wild and precious life cleaned the kitchen floor today. 😜

Expand full comment
author

Well, it cant' be wild and precious all the time, I guess! Hope you did something beautiful today, too.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

Thank you for sharing this poem…thank you for being part of my world.♥️

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for all your caring and healing!

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2022Liked by Robyn Ryle

I've really enjoyed reading your posts. Thanks for sharing this poem, it is very thought provoking.

Expand full comment

Robyn, I will like and comment, but please don’t read my cards, that “death card” kinda freaks me out!

🤣🤣🤣

BTW you bring much light and thought provoking commentary into my day!!

I thank you for that

Expand full comment